Skip to main content



This page provides a registry of Indian butterfly monitoring projects associated with iBMS. You can use this Google registration form to register your project. Separate project pages with further details may be created on this website after at least one year's dataset has been submitted to iBMS and it is reviewed and curated into the national iBMS dataset.

Currently the following iBMS projects are actively collecting butterfly monitoring data and/or have contributed data in the past:


  1. Eaglenest WLS: 2015 onward. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte.
  2. Siang Valley: 2022 onward. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte and Sanjay Sondhi.
  3. Tale WLS: 2019. Coordinators: Sanjay Sondhi and Krushnamegh Kunte.


  1. Bengaluru: Bangalore University: 2016-2018. Coordinator: Nitin Ravikanthachari.
  2. Bengaluru: Doresanipalya Forest Research Station: 2012 onward. Coordinators: Rohit Girotra, Nagesh, Lochana, Mukund R., Krushnamegh Kunte.
  3. Bengaluru: Kalkere: 2023 onward. Coordinators: Mukund R. and Vasudeesha H.
  4. Bengaluru: NCBS campus: 2015 onward. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte, Viraj Nawge.
  5. Mangalore: Mangalore University Campus: 2016 onward. Coordinators: Deepak Naik and M. Mustaq.
  6. Kodagu: Honey Valley: 2014 onward. 
  7. Mysore: Lalit Mahal Palace grounds: 2023 onward. Coordinators: Arun Urs and Namrata Urs.


  1. Pune: Pachgaon Parvati: 1992-1993. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte.
  2. Pune: Sinhagad: 1992-1993. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte.
  3. Pune: Tamhini: 2021 onward. Coordinators: Savita Bharti.
  4. Pune: Varje Hills: 1992-1993. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte.
  5. Pune: Vetal Tekdi (Hill): 2023 onward. Coordinators: Savita Bharti and Bhushan Sathe.


  1. Garo Hills: 2012 onward. Coordinators: Krushnamegh Kunte and Sanjay Sondhi.
  2. Meghalaya State: 2023 onward. Coordinators: Sanjay Sondhi and Krushnamegh Kunte.